We’ve all achieved it: despatched a textual content message after which immediately regretted it. Whether or not it was a textual content to your guardian with a spelling error that they’d by no means allow you to reside down, a message with a unsuitable phrase in it (“I don’t need to come to the social gathering!” as a substitute of “I need to come to the social gathering!”), or a sudden realization that you simply simply despatched your message to the unsuitable particular person — it may be in any case embarrassing and on the worst disastrous.

Whereas messaging apps like Sign, WhatsApp, and Viber all have some model of “delete for everybody,” till now, there was nothing you can do about it on iMessage besides to observe it up with an “I didn’t imply that!” message.

In iOS 16, Apple introduces a function to its iMessage chat app that lets you edit or unsend a message — so long as you do it inside quarter-hour of while you despatched it and the recipient can be on iOS 16, iPadOS 16, or macOS Ventura.

As well as, it fails inelegantly if the opposite particular person is on an earlier model (so don’t depend on this function throughout the public beta). And there could also be another points that you really want to concentrate on when utilizing this function.

Nonetheless, it may be very useful. Right here’s how one can use it in iOS 16 beta:

To alter the message

  • Lengthy-press on the message.
  • On the drop-down menu, faucet Edit.
  • Edit your message and faucet the checkmark to the suitable of the message to ship the correction. (Or faucet the “x” to the left of the message for those who’ve modified your thoughts about altering the textual content).

To delete the message

  • Lengthy-press on the message.
  • On the drop-down menu, faucet Undo Ship.
  • The message will instantly disappear (in a slightly fairly “poof!”).

3 iOS screens showing a message being edited

To edit or delete a despatched message, long-press on the message inside quarter-hour of sending.

In the event you long-press in your message after quarter-hour have handed, then the Undo Ship and Edit choices will not be on the menu.



Supply hyperlink

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.